Grandma’s Molasses Cookies

Grandma K’s molasses cookies somehow become a topic of discussion at her 90th birthday party on Friday. After that, I had an intense craving. Since I couldn’t find Grandma’s recipe on my computer, I did a quick search and found a blogger who had posted her grandma’s molasses cookie recipe. If I couldn’t use my grandma’s recipe, I figured I might as well use someone else’s grandma’s recipe 🙂 They turned out perfectly. When I finally surfaced Grandma K’s recipe the next morning, I realized that her recipe is almost exactly the same. The one difference – Grandma K uses shortening instead of butter. I would have substituted butter anyways. This recipe must have been making the rounds back in the ’50’s.

Quick note – I was out of cloves so I substituted nutmeg. Great taste, just not as spicy.

Grandma’s Molasses Cookies

3/4 c butter, melted and slightly cooled
3/4 c sugar, plus extra for rolling
1/4 c molasses
1 egg
2 c flour
2 tsp baking soda
1 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp ground cloves
1/2 tsp ground ginger
1/2 tsp salt

1) In a large bowl, stir together butter, sugar, molasses and egg.
2) In a small bowl, combine flour, baking soda, cinnamon, cloves, ginger and salt.
3) Add flour mixture to butter mixture; stir until well combined.
4) Chill dough in the refrigerator for 20 – 30 minutes; in the meantime, preheat oven to 375 degrees.
5) Shape dough into 1″ balls, roll in sugar and place on ungreased baking sheet.
6) Slightly flatten the balls using your palm or the bottom of a glass.
7) Bake for 8 – 10 minutes.

This entry was posted in dessert and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

